Saturday, November 9, 2013

Crispin Certified Gluten Free Hard Cider

As the label states, Crispin Hard Cider are certified gluten free. This particular one is their Artisanal Reserve Honey Crisp. Contrary to what it's name might lead you to believe, it's not made from Honeycrisp apples, but rather a variety of apples. The name is a play on the company name and the fact that it has honey instead of sugar in it. The cider is made from freshly pressed apple juice and is cloudy  because it retains some of the natural apple wine sediment. The manufacturer recommends a "full bottoms up tilt and swirl" to mix that sediment into the cider for full flavor. It is definitely better served cold or over ice. It has a tart apple flavor with a hint of sweetness. I would definitely place it's flavor in the beer range as opposed to wine. I thought it was refreshing, but I was expecting it to be sweeter. I would be interested in trying the other Crispin varieties to see how they stack up.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Tuesday's Tips: Gluten Free Alcohol Options

The holiday season is upon us, and so is the time for gatherings, spreading good cheer, and toasting! So, how do you know if the drinks being served are safe for the gluten sensitive? The National Institute of Health has stated that all alcohol is gluten free because the distilling process removes gluten proteins. However, some disagree. There's a short article on that explains this quite well. If you're unsure, contact the manufacturer or avoid it. Thankfully, more and more companies are catering to the gluten sensitive these days, and gluten free labels make it easier to find safe options. I've searched the internet for gluten free libations and have complied my results here.

Vodka - Traditionally made with grains containing gluten, but some specialty vodkas are safe. Choose those made with potato, corn, or even grapes. Gluten free vodka list

Wine - Most wines are gluten free, but some might be at risk of cross contamination (lower than 20 ppm) from the wine-making process. Is Wine Gluten Free

Beer - Beers are generally NOT gluten free since they are primarily made with wheat or barley (both contain gluten). However, there are some options that are gluten free. Gluten Free Beers

Hard Cider - Most ciders are gluten free, however those that use malt could contain traces of gluten. Angry Orchard, Crispin, and Woodchuck Cider are some options. Gluten Free Alternatives to Beer

Rum - Rum is naturally gluten free because it's made from sugar. Is Rum Gluten Free

Whiskey - Most whiskeys are made from gluten containing grains. Jack Daniel's states on their website that their whiskeys are made gluten free during the distilling process. Corn whiskey, or moonshine, if it's made from a pure corn mash should be naturally gluten free, but manufacturers warn of possible contamination.

Tequila - Tequila is generally gluten free... except possibly the cheap stuff. Is Tequila Gluten Free

In general, check with the manufacturer if you are unsure, or steer clear. Search for alcohols made from potato, corn, grapes, or 100% Agave tequila. Wine coolers and malt beverages as well as flavored liquors should be avoided.

Other sites:

Sunday, November 3, 2013

O'Dough's Bagel Thins

I honestly can't remember the last time I had bagels. They used to be a favorite of mine, but since my food allergy/sensitivity diagnosis a few years ago all things wheat, egg, and dairy are out. I still had to forgo the cream cheese, but these bagel thins were great! They're tasty and soft, but have just enough chewiness to separate themselves as bagels not rolls. They toast up great and keep well in the freezer. I will definitely buy these again! The best part? They're on the low end of the price range for similar products and they're only 100 calories apiece! 

Get more information from O'Doughs.