I am so excited to find these at our local Kroger. I've been waiting since their launch to actually try them & they didn't disappoint! They are free of the top 8 allergens- dairy, eggs, wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, & shellfish. The last two seem like no brainers... fish in cookies? You'd be surprised what some ingredients are derived from! Anyway, these chocolate chip cookies were moist and tasty with a good texture. Nothing ruins an allergen free cookie more than a sandy texture! Although they were a little one the small side, there were 12 in the package, so I was ok with it (and they're probably the size cookies are supposed to be... not the behemoths sold in the bakery). Personally, I enjoyed them & will definitely look for these again!
Saturday, June 7, 2014
Saturday, November 9, 2013
As the label states, Crispin Hard Cider are certified gluten free. This particular one is their Artisanal Reserve Honey Crisp. Contrary to what it's name might lead you to believe, it's not made from Honeycrisp apples, but rather a variety of apples. The name is a play on the company name and the fact that it has honey instead of sugar in it. The cider is made from freshly pressed apple juice and is cloudy because it retains some of the natural apple wine sediment. The manufacturer recommends a "full bottoms up tilt and swirl" to mix that sediment into the cider for full flavor. It is definitely better served cold or over ice. It has a tart apple flavor with a hint of sweetness. I would definitely place it's flavor in the beer range as opposed to wine. I thought it was refreshing, but I was expecting it to be sweeter. I would be interested in trying the other Crispin varieties to see how they stack up.
Tuesday, November 5, 2013
Vodka - Traditionally made with grains containing gluten, but some specialty vodkas are safe. Choose those made with potato, corn, or even grapes. Gluten free vodka list
Wine - Most wines are gluten free, but some might be at risk of cross contamination (lower than 20 ppm) from the wine-making process. Is Wine Gluten Free
Beer - Beers are generally NOT gluten free since they are primarily made with wheat or barley (both contain gluten). However, there are some options that are gluten free. Gluten Free Beers
Hard Cider - Most ciders are gluten free, however those that use malt could contain traces of gluten. Angry Orchard, Crispin, and Woodchuck Cider are some options. Gluten Free Alternatives to Beer
Rum - Rum is naturally gluten free because it's made from sugar. Is Rum Gluten Free
Whiskey - Most whiskeys are made from gluten containing grains. Jack Daniel's states on their website that their whiskeys are made gluten free during the distilling process. Corn whiskey, or moonshine, if it's made from a pure corn mash should be naturally gluten free, but manufacturers warn of possible contamination.
Tequila - Tequila is generally gluten free... except possibly the cheap stuff. Is Tequila Gluten Free
In general, check with the manufacturer if you are unsure, or steer clear. Search for alcohols made from potato, corn, grapes, or 100% Agave tequila. Wine coolers and malt beverages as well as flavored liquors should be avoided.
Sunday, November 3, 2013
I honestly can't remember the last time I had bagels. They used to be a favorite of mine, but since my food allergy/sensitivity diagnosis a few years ago all things wheat, egg, and dairy are out. I still had to forgo the cream cheese, but these bagel thins were great! They're tasty and soft, but have just enough chewiness to separate themselves as bagels not rolls. They toast up great and keep well in the freezer. I will definitely buy these again! The best part? They're on the low end of the price range for similar products and they're only 100 calories apiece!
Get more information from O'Doughs.
Monday, October 28, 2013
I'll admit I was excited when I saw these little tubs in my grocery. While I shied away from buying them at first, a PMS-prompted shopping trip was all it took to get this container in my cart. They cost $3-$4 for a tub just shy of 1 lb. I wouldn't buy them if I had a need to make a lot of cookies (for a gathering) they certainly did come in handy to squash my cravings.
I was able to bake up (in my toaster oven I might add) 3 batches of 4-6 cookies each. They baked up better when I used the recommended tablespoon or less and pressed them flat. So how did they come out? They looked good and baked up soft and chewy, but I had a hard time finding a balance between under-cooked and hockey puck. This may have been due to operator error. While they have good flavor, there is a slight gritty texture. The bad news... they do contain soy and "less than 2%" of egg.
Gluten Free Gigi has a great post about this product and lays it all out in a way that's very easy to understand. As she says in the post... without labeling laws, we don't know what's in our food. These are gluten free, but they do have highly refined ingredients and GMOs.
Nutritional information, ingredients, and allergy information is available on the Pillsbury site.
Friday, October 25, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised during a recent trip to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen. Known for its fried seafood and rich sauces, it has not been the easiest place for me to find allergy friendly options. Well, that is until now. Pappadeaux's now offers a gluten free menu! While that doesn't take care of all my allergies it's a start, and the waiter at our local restaurant was very helpful. The menu was understandably limited, but there were some really tasty options. I had the Jumbo Sea Scallops with Lemon & Herb Olive Oil (since I can't have butter), and they were delicious. If you have any other food allergies be sure to tell your waiter. When it came to dessert, there really are no options on their menu for me (they either have wheat or dairy in them). Thankfully, our waiter was nice enough to put together a wonderful fruit cup for me.
Of course, like it says on the menu, Pappadeaux's prepares all food in a common kitchen so there is always the chance for cross contamination.
Monday, October 21, 2013
Here are some links to lists and articles that might help make this holiday season a little easier to navigate. Of course, if you're ever in doubt, it's better to err on the side of safety, and you can also contact the manufacturer's customer service department to find out if your candy is safe.
Gluten Free Candy
Peanut and Tree Nut Free Candy
Allergy Free Candy - All candy is free of the top 8 allergens - wheat, milk, soy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish or shellfish.
Allergy Free Halloween Candy Round-Up
Sunday, October 20, 2013
National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, approximately 1% of the U.S. population has celiac disease, and it is believed that even more people with celiac disease are undiagnosed or misdiagnosed. In addition, it's believed that as many as 1 in 20 Americans have non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS). So, trying a gluten free diet could be beneficial for people who are noticing symptoms of sensitivity such as gastro-intestinal distress, headaches, and joint pain with no other explanation. Otherwise, you run the risk of losing out on the valuable fiber and nutrients that gluten containing foods possess. Don't take my word for it. WebMD outline some facts and concerns about the issue on their site. In people without gluten sensitivities there has been no noted health benefit and some people actually gain weight when they go gluten free. The bottom line is you have to educate yourself and make decisions based on knowledge, not hype. Be smart. Gluten free cookies are still cookies, and overly processed or refined foods are unhealthy regardless of whether or not they contain gluten. If you suspect a problem with wheat or gluten, talk to your doctor. Ask for the appropriate testing, and get to the bottom of the problems you're having. It took me almost 10 years to get my food issues sorted out... just don't give up until you feel better.
See my post about getting proper nutrients on a gluten free diet.
See my post about getting proper nutrients on a gluten free diet.
Get the full list of facts here.
Friday, August 16, 2013
These little snacks are pretty tasty! I was skeptical at first because I thought they would just be baked lentil pods, which didn't entice me at all. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they're actually light, crisp, and airy. They're obviously made from an extruded lentil dough... like a cheese puff. I also tried their lightly salted Snapea Crisps, but I wasn't as impressed with those. They didn't have as much flavor. The Lentil Snaps have 120 calories per container (3 servings per container), 6 grams of fat, 85 mg of sodium, 5 grams of protein, and 2 grams of fiber. They do warn that they are made in a facility that also processes wheat, milk, soy, shrimp, and fish.